Ceremonial Opening of Rural Health Research Centre, Katharagama


The Rural Health Research Centre (RHRC) of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Colombo was ceremonially opened on the 30th of May 2018 at the premises of former Malaria Research Station in Katharagama. The Centre was declared open by Professor Ranjan Hettiarachchi, the Rector of the Sri Palee Campus, representing the Vice-Chancellor of the University.

The event was also graced by Dr. Nimal Gamagedera, the Provincial Director of Health Services of the Uva province representing the health sector in the region. Among the guests present at this occasion were staff of the University of Colombo, officials of the health services and many other representatives of public services in the region.

Establishment of the RHRC is a significant landmark event in the history of the Faculty of Medicine Colombo, the premier medical institution in Sri Lanka. This centre was developed through a grant awarded to the Faculty through the Higher Education for Twenty-first Century (HETC) project by the World Bank.

The Centre will facilitate a programme of health research relevant to rural communities and provide opportunities for collaborative research projects and elective programmes, in different fields. The facilities at the centre include a conference hall to accommodate 50 participants, four guest rooms, and ample green space bordering Menik River.

For further information, contact the Faculty of Medicine over the telephone +94-11-269 5300 (extension 245).      

Faculty of Medicine, Colombo emerges World Champions at the International Inter-Medical School Physiology quiz, held in Malaysia

The Faculty of Medicine, Colombo secured the world championship when they won the Prof A Raman Challenge trophy at the 15th Inter-Medical School Physiology Quiz (IMSPQ) held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 16-17 of August 2017.

The team from Colombo comprising Poorni Fernando, Sathee Hewakuruppu, Chamath Jayakody, Supun Prabhashwara and PamodhYasawardene of the AL 2013 intake competed against 463 medical students representing 103 universities from 22 countries worldwide from Asia, Australia and UK. The National University of Singapore, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, Charles Darwin and Flinders Universities of Australia and University of Bristol, UK were among the competitors for this prestigious trophy. Colombo Medical faculty team was the second runners-up in 2016.

The quiz is organised to honour the late Professor A. Raman who was the first Malaysian

Professor of Physiology and Head of Department of Physiology of the oldest university in Malaysia, University of Malaya. The IMSPQ is one of the key events in the Physiology academic calendar that enables and inspires both students and teachers to enjoy this basic science which forms the backbone of Medicine. The quiz has become a model for the national physiological societies of many other countries to achieve the goals of enhancing the learning and teaching of Physiology.