About Us

Our Vision.....

To be the most outstanding medico-legal service provider in the Asian region. 

Our Mission.....

To produce competent and caring health care professionals who would fulfill the medico-legal needs of our communities.

To be the centre of excellence in service and  research in the field of Forensic Medicine.


A Brief History of the Department

From the inception of the Colombo Medical School in 1870 upto 1951, lectures in Forensic Medicine were conducted by the Judicial Medical Officer, Colombo. The Department of Forensic Medicine functioned as a subunit of the office of the Judicial Medical Officer, Colombo. Among others Dr. N. Sinnadurai, Dr. P. S. Gunawardena and Dr. G. S. W. de Saram performed the duties of judicial Medical Officer, Colombo, and lecturer in Forensic Medicine. 

In 1951,a separate Department of Forensic Medicine was created in the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Ceylon. Dr. G.S.W de Saram, MBBS (Lond), MRCS (Eng), LRCP (Lond), LMS (Ceylon), OBE, the Judicial Medical Officer, Colombo was appointed the first Professor of Forensic Medicine. Professor de Saram retired in 1958 and Dr H.V.J Fernando succeeded him as Professor in 1959. 

Professor N. Kodagoda was elected to the Chair of Forensic Medicine in 1985 and Professor Ravindra Fernando succeeded him in 1959.Considering the work performed and contributions made in the field of toxicology, the name of the Department was changed to “Department of Forensic Medicine and Toxicology” in 1990. 

The Department has a major role to play in education and research in Forensic Medicine and Toxicology, and in providing professional and expert advice on medico-legal and ethical issues to doctors and courts. The advances in medical science and expected changes in legislation offer a challenge to the future activities of the Department. 

Currently the Department is involved in training courses for undergraduates, postgraduates and 

 professionals in fields related to Forensic Medicine and carrying out research


Professor G.S.W.de Seram

 Professor H.V.J. Fernando

   Professor N. Kodagoda

Professor  Ravindra Fernando