Welcome statement and overview of the department


This is the first academic Department of Paediatrics established within a University in Sri Lanka.

The department, founded in 1949 has grown and flourished as a centre of excellence for several sub-specialties in paediatrics encompassing the broader dimensions of the 21st century and has become a highly-rated and vibrant training centre in paediatrics for both undergraduates and postgraduates.


About us


Its clinical, teaching and research facilities are provided within the Faculty of Medicine, Kynsey Road Colombo, ( the oldest and largest Medical Faculty in Sri Lanka), a 80 bedded ward , including a state of the art Dengue high dependency unit in the Lady Ridgeway Children’s Hospital ( the premier children’s hospital in the country) and a Special Care Baby Unit containing in excess of 10 berths and accepting a monthly admission rate of approximately 25- 30 babies in the De Soysa Hospital for Women ( one of the largest maternity hospitals in Sri Lanka ). Staff currently consist of four professors, seven senior and junior lecturers, around 10 clinical practitioners, a social worker, research assistants, technical, administrative and secretarial staff. Academic members serve on numerous national and international committees dedicated to the progress of paediatrics and national health policies pertaining to child health. The department holds research grants in excess of SL Rupees 1.5 million per annum and research interests include Assessment of growth, Air pollution, Developmental disorders and Disabilities, Muscular dystrophies, Neonatology, Nutritional disorders.