General Convocation 2022 – University of Colombo

The University of Colombo held its General Convocation 2022 for the Faculty of Medicine on 06th September, 2023 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Colombo. The event was preside over by the chancellor Ven. Muruththettuwe Ananda Thero,and in the presence of  Vice-Chancellor Senior Professor H.D. Karunaratne, Registrar Mr KAS Edward, the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Vidya Jyothi Senior Prof. Vajira H.W. Dissanayake, several academic and administrative staff, as well as  both MBBS and BSc Physiotherapy graduates.  Prices and Gold medals were also awarded to the outstanding medical students.There are no of  190 students (A/L 2015) graduated Bachelor of Medicine and  Bachelor of Surgery,  no of 67 of students (A/L 2016 & 2017) graduated Bachelor of Honours in Physiotherapy and no of 04 students graduated Bachelor of Health Studies.
University of Colombo Award for the Academic Excellence in Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery awarded to Mr. J.N. Ariadurai (A/L 2015 batch),  University of Colombo Award for the Academic Excellence in Bachelor of Science in physiotherapy awarded to Ms. M.H. Hasintha (A/L 2017 batch) & Ms. C.S. Kodithuwakkuarachchi (A/L 2016 batch).
Following students of the faculty were awarded Medals for their outstanding performance
  • Chalmers Gold Medal for Anatomy – Ms. G.S Dushyanthy
  • Professor K.N. Seneviratne Memorial Gold Medal for Physiology – Mr. P.F.S.C Fonseka
  • Gamini Kannangara Medal for Physiology – Ms. K.A.H Piyatissa
  • Gladys Jayawardene Gold Medal for Parasitology – Mr. K.S.L Wijewantha
  • Vythialingam Sivalingam Gold Medal and Scholarshop in Parasitology – Mr. K.S.L Wijewantha
  • Loos Gold Medal for Pathology – Ms. K.A.H Piyatissa
  • Vanderstraten Silver Medal for Hygiene – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Professor Dulitha Fernando Gold Medal for the Best Performance in Community Stream of the MBBS Degree Programme – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Mylopulle Silver Medal for Pharmacology – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • N.D.W Lionel Medal – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Mathew Gold Medal for Forensic Medicine – Ms. K.A.H Piyatissa, Mr. N.N Wijesuriya
  • Beartrics Illangakoon Medal in Practical Forensic Medicine and Toxicology – Mr. J Mithushan, Mr. N.N. Wijesuriya, Mr. K.S.L Wijewantha
  • Medal in Microbiology – Ms. K.A.H Piyatissa
  • Dr D. de S. Muthukumarana Memorial Prize for Medicine – Mr. P.F.S.C Fonseka
  • Professor K Dharmadasa Gold Medal for Clinical Medicine – Mr. P.F.S.C Fonseka
  • Rajasuriya Prize for Clinical Medicine – Mr. G.K.D Rajaratne
  • Dhunjishaw Dadabhoy Gold Medal for Medicine – Mr. P.F.S.C Fonseka
  • Professor Channa Wijesinghe Medal for Psychiatry – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Wilson Illangakoon Gold Medal in Clinical Psychiatry – Mr. T Sayeeshan
  • Maneckbai Dadabhoy Gold Medal for Midwifery (Obstetrics) – Ms. W.T.N.K Wijethunga
  • The Naomi Thiagarajah Prize for Midwifery –  Ms. W.T.N.K Wijethunga
  • Prof. S.S. Ratnam Book Token for Gynaecology – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Dr. A.D Wijesena Memorial Gold Medal for Obstetrics & Gynaecology – Mr. K.S.L Wijewantha
  • Prof. D.E. Gunatilake Memorial Prize in Obstetrics and Gynaecology – Mr. K.S.L Wijewantha
  • Ranasinghe Memorial Prize for Reproductive Health – Ms. W.T.N.K Wijethunga
  • Prof. T. Visvanathan Gold Medal for Excellence in Clinical Obstetrics & Gynaecology – Mr. G.K.D Rajaratne
  • Dr. Alaric Jayasinghe Memorial Gold Medal in Paediatrics – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Professor Sanath P. Lamabadusuriya Gold Medal for Clinical Paediatrics – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Drogo Austin Gold Medal for Orthopaedics – Mr.  J Mithushan
  • Dr. M.N. Burhan Gold Medal for Surgery – Mr. J Mithushan
  • The Rockwood Gold Medal for Surgery – Mr. J Mithushan
  • Sir Andrew Caldecott Gold Medal for Final MBBS – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Joseph Nalliah Arumugam Memorial Award for Final MBBS – Mr. J.N Ariadurai
  • Sumanawathie de Costa Jubilee Award for the Best Student –  Mr. J.N Ariadurai