General Convocation 2020 – University of Colombo


The University of Colombo held its General Convocation 2019 for the Faculty of Medicine on July 23rd, 2022 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall, Colombo. The event was graced by the Vice-Chancellor, Senior Professor H.D. Karunaratne, the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Vidya Jyothi Prof. Vajira H.W. Dissanayake, several academic and administrative staff, and both MBBS and BSc Physiotherapy graduates.  Prices and Gold medals were also awarded to the outstanding medical students.

Following students of the faculty were awarded Medals for their outstanding performance
  • Chalmers Gold Medal for AnatomyMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Professor K.N. Seneviratne Memorial Gold Medal for PhysiologyMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Gamini Kannangara Medal for PhysiologyMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Gladys Jayawardene Gold Medal for ParasitologyMr. P.C Yasawardene
  • Vythialingam Sivalingam Gold Medal and Scholarshop in ParasitologyMr. P.C Yasawardene
  • Loos Gold Medal for PathologyMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Professor Dulitha Fernando Gold Medal for the Best Performance in Community Stream of the MBBS Degree Programme Mr. P.C Yasawardene
  • Mylopulle Silver Medal for PharmacologyMs. A.S De Silva
  • Senaka Bibile Prize in PharmacologyMr. P.C Yasawardene
  • N.D.W Lionel MedalMs. A.S De Silva
  • Mathew Gold Medal for Forensic MedicineMr. P.C Yasawardene
  • Beartrics Illangakoon Medal in Practical Forensic Medicine and ToxicologyMr. P.C Yasawardene
  • Dr D. de S. Muthukumarana Memorial Prize for MedicineMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Professor K Dharmadasa Gold Medal for Clinical MedicineMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Rajasuriya Prize for Clinical MedicineMs. L.P.U.S Senevirathna
  • Dhunjishaw Dadabhoy Gold Medal for MedicineMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Professor Channa Wijesinghe Medal for PsychiatryMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara
  • Wilson Illangakoon Gold Medal in Clinical PsychiatryMr. K.M.A Pathiranage
  • Maneckbai Dadabhoy Gold Medal for Midwifery (Obstetrics)Ms. M.P.S Fernando
  • The Naomi Thiagarajah Prize for MidwiferyMs. M.P.S Fernando
  • Prof. S.S. Ratnam Book Token for GynaecologyMs. M.P.S Fernando
  • Dr. A.D Wijesena Memorial Gold Medal for Obstetrics & GynaecologyMs. M.P.S Fernando
  • Prof. D.E. Gunatilake Memorial Prize in Obstetrics and GynaecologyMs. M.P.S Fernando
  • Ranasinghe Memorial Prize for Reproductive HealthMs. M.P.S Fernando
  • Prof. T. Visvanathan Gold Medal for Excellence in Clinical Obstetrics & GynaecologyMs. M.P.S Fernando
  • Dr. Alaric Jayasinghe Memorial Gold Medal in PaediatricsMs. L.P.U.S Senevirathna
  • Professor Sanath P. Lamabadusuriya Gold Medal for Clinical PaediatricsMs. L.P.U.S Senevirathna
  • Drogo Austin Gold Medal for OrthopaedicsMs. W.W.G.M Fernando
  • Dr. M.N. Burhan Gold Medal for SurgeryMs. W.W.G.M Fernando
  • The Rockwood Gold Medal for SurgeryMr. D.L.D Udara
  • Sir Andrew Caldecott Gold Medal for Final MBBSMs. L.P.U.S Senevirathna
  • Joseph Nalliah Arumugam Memorial Award for Final MBBSMs. L.P.U.S Senevirathna
  • Sumanawathie de Costa Jubilee Award for the Best StudentMr. K.B.S Prabhashwara